The NS (Name Server) records of a domain name show which DNS servers are authoritative for its zone. Simply, the zone is the group of all records for the domain, so when you open a URL within a web browser, your PC asks the DNS servers world-wide where the domain name is hosted and from which servers the DNS records for the domain ought to be retrieved. With this a web browser finds out what the A or AAAA record of the domain address is so that the latter is mapped to an IP and the website content is required from the right location, a mail relay server detects which server takes care of the emails for the domain (MX record) to ensure a message can be sent to the correct mailbox, etc. Any change of these sub-records is performed using the company whose name servers are employed, permitting you to keep the web hosting and switch only your email provider for instance. Each and every domain address has no less than two NS records - primary and secondary, which start with a prefix such as NS or DNS.
NS Records in Shared Hosting
Managing the NS records for any domain name registered in a shared hosting account on our cutting-edge cloud platform is going to take you merely seconds. Using the feature-rich Domain Manager tool within the Hepsia Control Panel, you will be able to change the name servers not just of a single domain name, but even of many domain addresses at a time when you want to point them all to the same hosting provider. The very same steps will also permit you to direct newly transferred domain addresses to our platform as the transfer process won't change the name servers automatically and the domains will still direct to the old host. If you wish to set up private name servers for a domain name registered on our end, you are going to be able to do that with a few mouse clicks and with no additional charge, so when you have a company website, for instance, it's going to have more credibility if it employs name servers of its own. The new private name servers can be used for forwarding any other domain to the same account as well, not only the one they're created for.