A password-protected directory or area is a folder which can be accessed only if a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people can observe its content. This function can be used for the main folder of a certain website or just for a certain subfolder depending on your requirements. For instance, when you are developing a new website and you do not want people to see it before it's completely ready, you should restrict the access to it as a whole, whereas if you want only some individuals to be able to access specific files, you may password-protect only a particular folder, while the other parts of the Internet site may be seen by anybody. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page will appear if the login details the visitor enters aren't accurate. Even a direct link to a file won't work given that any folder above it is password-protected.
Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting
If you use any of our shared hosting solutions, you'll be able to make password-protected areas with ease even if you don't have any experience with this sort of matters. We've built in an incredibly easy-to-use point-and-click tool in the Hepsia Control Panel, provided with all accounts, so you'll be able to secure any folder within just a few seconds. You will only have to choose a domain or a subdomain and the particular folder that has to be protected (the primary one or a subfolder), and then to type the username and password that will be used to access the folder in question in the future. Any protected folder will have a padlock icon within the File Manager section, so you will be able to see immediately what content is secured and what's not. If necessary, you could make a number of sets of login details for the same folder.